on heavy hitting losses

The social realities are clearer.  Apparently, I’ve also divorced old neighbors, friends, couples, and their children, my children’s friends.

I miss all of the children who ran into our home unannounced and treated our place like it was theirs.

I miss sharing music, food and laughter. Entertaining.

I miss long walks on clear nights admiring constellations and watching planes fly overhead.  I envision one day flying in the brightness of those stars.

I miss the nightly howling of coyotes.

I miss big empty fields and open spaces where there is nothing to do but admire nature and breathe.

I miss running outside to jump in puddles while it rains.

I miss picking flowers from my garden and eating their sour stems.

I miss the smell and sound of hope. Babies.

I miss the smell and freshness of early morning.  The stillness of life at the breaking of dawn.

I miss the emptiness of mind that comes when thoughts cease to be.

I miss the ones behind me, meant only to share one leg of the journey.

I miss macaroni art, glitter and glue.

I miss the lightness of my hands and heart.

They are heavy.

Weary of waving goodbye.

What am I grateful for?

  • What is left.  We are never asked to survive on what we’ve lost.  Rather, we are equipped to thrive on what we have left.  We may need to wear a cloak of sadness for a while, in reverence to the time we need to heal from our losses.  When we are ready to take it off, we will be wearing garments of confidence.

~ Our steps are ordered.  Remember to forge ahead, in both darkness and light.  ~ 

4 thoughts on “on heavy hitting losses

Add yours

  1. Of the truth, we all mostly hate change of circumstances we are used to but nature move according to its own timetable. We are present to live through it all so it is better to prepare our minds to keep adjusting to the changes along our paths . Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

