Skip to content

on reasons for sleeping

He looked at me and asked, “Where do you see yourself here?”  I told him I did not know.  He complimented my earrings then swiftly walked away, a strange bird for sure, a sense of familiarity I did not understand.

He looked at me and asked, “Where do you see yourself here?” I told him ‘here’ would outgrow me.  He listened quietly without responding.

He looked at me and asked, “Where do you see yourself here?” I looked away. I fumbled my words. He fumbled his.

He wrote to me and asked, “Where would you like to be here?” I replied still that ‘here’ would outgrow me.

We held on, until we let go…

Knowing he would outgrow ‘there’ I had no right to share.

I close my eyes. In dreams, speaking through touch, my hands whisper, “With you.”

His voice now hidden in lyrical prose, words illuminating shadows…

 

Leave a Reply

