Skip to content

The Priceless Alchemy of Love

The man who called the police for us. That time we were running in the middle of the night being chased. I was barefoot and carrying a blue teddy bear and mom was wearing a bra and underwear. She knocked on three doors to silence. The fourth door opened and the woman looked at us, screamed and slammed the door. The fifth door opened and the man rushed us inside his home.
Wherever you are, thank you Sir. I love you.


The old women at the drug house who ‘babysat’ me while my mother was in the back room getting high. The ones that taught me about consumerism via The Price is Right; the ones that taught me how to knit; the ones that sat me down at the kitchen table to read the bible to me even though I didn’t understand the words.
You are no longer here, but Thank You. I love all of you. 


That woman who gave a scraggly kid like me a chance to prove my worth by starting at the bottom of an industry in which I had no experience.
Thank you. I love you.


That boss who trusted me to change standards that had been in place for years and who when I lost everything I owned in a fire except the clothes on my back, gave me money to rebuild.
You are no longer here, but Thank You. I love you.


That homeowner who could have sued me but wanted to work things out so that neither of us would suffer, showing extraordinary compassion.
I’m sorry. Thank you. I love you.


That ‘mother’ who birthed me, taking me along for the ride through her personal hells and my being fortified along the journey.
Thank you. I love you. I forgive you. 


That ‘father’ who left me, abandoning me as a nothing infant to his heart and my developing the heart of a servant along the journey.
Thank you. I love you. I forgive you.


The ‘men’ who molested me, taking what little remained held in innocence as a child, forcing me through paths of hell before receiving the distinction of magna cum laude in Forgiveness.
I love you. I forgive all of you.


The man who loved me so much he placed his very life over me to save mine, a lesson in sacrifice I will forever hold in my heart.
Thank you. I love you.


The grandmother who exhibited faith, strength, compassion and forgiveness, making my struggle a little lighter for having witnessed the existence of all attributes in another human being and planting a desire to model her love.
You are always with me. Thank you. I love you. 


The man I married and divorced, for making me a mother and leading me to my true self.
I’m sorry. I forgive you. Thank you. I love you.


The one who loved me at a distance and at times held my heart with child gloves, reigniting my faith in compassionate beings, reminding me to believe.
Thank you. I love you.


The man who loved me, for the sake of loving me and showing me a glimpse of what deep and passionate love might be.
Thank you. I love you.


My children
For helping me see that every moment of thankfulness, every apology, all forgiveness and every ounce of love, all led me here to you, to this moment, where pure love abounds and will change the world.
Thank you. I love all of you.


 

The alchemy of love is priceless

4 Comments »

Leave a Reply

