Skip to content

Gated Ego Prism

ego

I hadn’t been to my old gym in a while so as I headed over to one of the machines to warm up my old trainer walked away from his client to give me a huge bear hug as I smiled and sheepishly said to him, “I fell off the wagon. Again”.

Without missing a beat, he said, “G_d doesn’t care if someone returns to Him after falling. All that matters is that you’re here. I missed you and am glad to see you!” he said beaming as he walked back to train.

Meanwhile, one within earshot asked if my name was Sarah and several began making jokes about him being my Father and our uncanny resemblance.

In addition to being a trainer he is also a bodybuilder, musician and pastor so I love that him just being himself naturally kills stereotypes. Still, I was inclined to expect the more common,

“It does not matter how many times you fall…”

It is great to be welcomed with open arms when you find the strength to get up from a fall.

It might be even greater to have the strength to ask to be held while falling.

The entrance gate to love’s arms = Falling + Standing


planet

focused

6 Comments »

Leave a Reply

